2011 Cannes Film Festival lineup revealed


The headline films of the 2011 Cannes Film Festival selection have been revealed, with the likes of Terrence Malick, Pedro Almodovar, Gus Van Sant, Takashi Miike, Lars Von Trier and Woody Allen all represented in the main competition.

Allen’s Midnight In Paris will be the Festival opener and sounds suitably floaty and romantic, concerning a couple who go to France on business and end up unconditionally surrendering to the Gallic lifestyle. Malick’s film is obviously the much-anticipated Tree of Life, Almodovar is presenting The Skin I Live In, his attempt at ‘a horror film without screams and frights’, while Van Sant’s Restless is a Mia Wasikowska-starring story of young love. Festival favourite Lars Von Trier will be bringing his usual chaos and controversy with Melancholia, and Takashi Miike is offering up Ichemei (aka Hara-kiri: Death of a Samurai).

Check after the jump for the full list.

(from Empire Online)

Opening film:
Woody Allen – Midnight In Paris

Main competition:
Pedro Almodóvar – La Piel que Habito
Bertrand Bonello – L’Apollonide: Souvenirs de la Maison Close
Alain Cavalier – Pater
Joseph Cedar – Hearat Shulayim
Nuri Bilge Ceylan – Bir Zamanlar Anadolu’da
Jean-Pierre et Luc Dardenne – Le Gamin au Vélo
Aki Kaurismäki – Le Havre
Naomi Kawase – Hanezu No Tsuki
Julia Leigh – Sleeping Beauty
Maïwenn Le Besco – Polisse
Terrence Malick – The Tree of Life
Radu Mihaileanu – La Source des Femmes (The Source)
Takashi Miike – Ichemei (Hara-Kiri: Death of a Samurai)
Nanni Moretti – Habemus Papam
Lynne Ramsay – We Need to Talk About Kevin
Markus Schleinzer – Michael
Paolo Sorrentino – This Must be the Place
Lars Von Trier – Melancholia
Nicolas Winding Refn – Drive


Opening film:
Gus Van Sant – Restless

Bakur Bakuradze – The Hunter
Andreas Dresen – Halt auf Freier Strecke
Bruno Dumont – Hors Satan
Sean Durkin – Martha Marcy May Marlene
Robert Guédiguian – Les Neiges du Kilimandjaro
Oliver Hermanus – Skoonheid
Sangsoo Hong – The Day He Arrives
Cristián Jiménez – Bonsái
Eric Khoo – Tatsumi
Ki-duk Kim – Arirang
Nadine Labaki – Et Maintenant On Va Ou?
Catalin Mitulescu – Loverboy
Hong-jin Na – Yellow Sea
Gerardo Naranjo – Miss Bala
Juliana Rojas, Marco Dutra – Trabalhar Cansa
Pierre Schoeller – L’exercice de L’etat
Ivan Sen – Toomelah
Joachim Trier – Oslo, August 31

Out of competition:

Xavier Durringer – La Conquête
Jodie Foster – The Beaver
Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Rob Marshall – Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Midnight screenings
Peter Ho-Sun Chan – Wu Xia
Everardo Gout – Dias de Gracia

Special screenings:
Frederikke Aspöck – Labrador
Rithy Panh – Le Maître des Forges de L’enfer
Michael Radford – Michel Petrucciani
Christian Rouaud – Tous au Larzac