Cannes Film Festival Jury is set


For those who care about the happenings at the Cannes Film Festival, the past few days has been very exciting. Late last week parts of the official program was unveiled, and today the members of the jury has been made public.  

As president(s), we have the Coen-brothers, Joel and Ethan, and they are joined by seven other prominent names in the industry. Directors Xavier Dolan and Guillermo Del Toro, actors Rossy de Palma, Sophie Marceau, Sienna Miller and Jake Gyllenhall, and finally composer, Rokia Traoré. 

It’s good to see Dolan return to the festival, albeit without a movie this time around. 

The nine of them will cast their votes to determine which movie, en compétition, that will be awarded with the Palme d’Or award on the closing ceremony on May 24. The importance of which is immense, as most Palme d’Or winners go on to see worldwide distribution.