Trailer: The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby Trailer w/ New Music by Beyoncé x André 3000, Lana Del Rey, Florence + The Machine

Like the other trailers before it, this newest trailer for The Great Gatsby worries me quite a bit as, once again, we get a focus on the spectacle of the original material rather than the subtleties underneath (other than the admittedly promising final scene). Gatsby is a text riddled with stagnation. Although characters dream big, they end up with nothing. It seems hinted at here, but so far it’s still going in the wrong direction. I just hope the message isn’t loss within all of this “style.”

Speaking of “style,” we have a full listing of the film’s soundtrack beneath the jump. We have Benonsay and Andre 3000 covering Amy Winehouse for some reason (it’s featured a bit in the trailer and is already terrible), a new Jay-Z track (because he’s contributing to the music production of course), plus a new Florence + The Machine single. Which, of course, is why the trailer doesn’t entirely suck. Good news though. Looks like that terrible ‘Happy Together’ cover isn’t listed. In the gallery below is the newest poster too. Nothing special as it’s just all of the character posters ‘shopped together. 

[via WB]

1.   100$ Bill – JAY Z

2.   Back To Black – Beyoncé x André 3000

3.   Bang Bang –

4.   A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got) – Fergie + Q Tip + GoonRock

5.   Young And Beautiful – Lana Del Rey

6.   Love Is The Drug – Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra

7.   Over The Love – Florence + The Machine

8.   Where The Wind Blows – Coco O. of Quadron

9.   Crazy in Love – Emeli Sandé and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra

10.  Together – The xx

11.  Hearts A Mess – Gotye

12.  Love Is Blindness – Jack White

13.  Into the Past – Nero

14.  Kill and Run – Sia